sanjay thumma Vahchef with Indian food videos inspires home cooks with new recipes every day.

Going Gluten Free

Every thing about Going Gluten Free | Vahrehvah :


Here we shall read what gluten is, what gluten free diets are and how to manage a gluten-free lifestyle. But before this, let’s get to know what Gluten is. It is specific type of protein that is found in wheat, rye and barley. Going gluten free, avoid foods that have gluten which mean avoiding these grains.


Generally people allergic to gluten or suffering from celiac disease (a condition which causes intestinal damage when gluten is eaten) go in for gluten free diet. Gluten is a protein composite in many grains and grain based foods. It is spongy and gives food the elastic ability to hold together.


This is often found in pasta, bread, cookies, pizzas etc. Sometimes gluten is also found in medicines, cosmetics, and even vitamin supplements. Gluten sensitivity occurs when a person’s immune system reacts abnormally to gluten. Celiac disease is a gluten sensitivity disease. Today there are a number of people suffering from Celiac disease. Unfortunately, Celiac is often mistaken for an eating disorder.


Symptoms of a gluten sensitivity can vary widely, which is one of the reasons celiac disease and other gluten sensitivities go undiagnosed, but here are a few of the most common symptoms that includes Abdominal pain, Bloating and/or gas, Constipation, Diarrhea, Fatty, noxious, floating, bloody, or otherwise odd stools, Nausea and/or vomiting , Reduced appetite.


What to foods to eat and foods to avoid: Foods allowed to eat: Many foods are naturally gluten-free like Beans, seeds, nuts in their natural, unprocessed form. Fresh eggs, Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated), Fruits and vegetables, Corn and Most dairy products.


Foods not allowed to eat: A strict gluten-free diet involves removing all foods, beverages and some medications that are made from gluten (with barley, rye, and wheat).


Avoid all food and drinks containing: Barley (malt, malt flavorings and malt vinegar are usually made from barley), Rye, Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye) and Wheat.


Foods that you can substitute: The diet is mostly workable with Indian food plan as there are many substitutes like bajra, jowar ragi, rajgira, singhada atta, white poha, kurmura and sabudana" . Alternative grains such as soya, quinoa, cornflour, millet, arrowroot, amaranth and rice flours all go with the gluten-free diet. 


Quinoa is an amazing cereal that can be used to prepare upma, khichidi and Kheer etc. Foods that you need to strictly avoid: Breads and bagels, candies, pastas and pizzas, cookies, waffles, certain cereals, salad dressings and sauces including soya sauce. People on gluten free diet may often have low levels of certain vitamins and nutrients in their diet.


Hence always consult your dietitian to review the diet so that you get enough of the essential nutrients. Do look out for your favorite and many more yummy, appetizing and exotic recipes at:


You could always reach me at my below links:

My Cooking Videos

Indian Recipes

Indian Food

Regional Indian Cuisines

VahChef Sanjay Thumma

Enjoy cooking and eating healthy foods to stay hale and hearty. Always remember that: VahrehVah is all about inspiring others to cook”!

Be the first to know about Our Recipes and Foods: Subscribe to Newsletter